Touche, NPR

Every morning on my way to work I listen to NPR.  Since I have a half-hour commute, it’s an easy way for me to keep up with some current events without having to use up my precious free time at home.  However, this week is the fund-drive, meaning instead of my daily dose of news I get almost 30 minutes of people begging for money.  And let me tell you, they are good at it.  The last two days of commuting have gone like this:

Radio person:  If you are listening to this right now, then you obviously enjoy our morning news programs.
Me:  *Gasp*  You’re right!
Radio person:  You enjoy hearing quality news from quality journalists.
Me:  That’s true as well!  Otherwise my news would only come from Facebook, and we all know how unreliable that is.
Radio person:  There is only one way that these programs are going to keep running. . .
Me:  HOW?!
Radio person:  . . .and that’s by generous donations by our listeners.
Me:  Uh-oh, I’m a listener. . .
Radio person:  So if you want to continue listening to these programs, then you need to make sure to help us out.
Me:  Gee, money is a little tight this month, maybe I can scrape something together later this year to give.
Radio person:  And don’t wait to give!  
Me:  Aww, bummer.
Radio person:  We need your support now to meet our pledge goals to ensure that our quality news programming continues.  It’s up to you to help!
Me:  Well, crap.  Now I feel really guilty.  
Now you might wonder why I don’t listen to something else on the way to work.  While that might be what a smart person would do, I am a creature of habit.  If habit dictates that I listen to NPR on the way to work, then that is when I, like an idiot, listen to NPR.  The good news is that I only have two more days to commute this week!  
Leave a Reply

