Not As Black and White As We Would Like

Yesterday was the day that the affordable care act stretched to cover women’s preventative care–specifically the birth control controversy.  In the midst of the Chic-fil-A hullabaloo, this change that had people raging about freedom of religion and women’s rights in February officially went into effect relatively unnoticed (at least within the spheres of my social group).

Today I happened upon this, a description about what is being provided with the changes implemented yesterday.  While coverage for contraceptives is included with this aspect of the law (and those leading the way with this change are still claiming the contraceptives don’t provide abortifacient drugs, which is debatable), there are many other aspects of this act that are undeniably good for women’s health.  Good things like well-women visits, breastfeeding support, and domestic violence screening.  What would happen to these services if the women’s preventative care act were to be overturned?

Questions like these pop into my head whenever anyone talks about Obamacare.  I have health insurance through my parents’ plan until I’m 26, something that wasn’t allowed until the new healthcare laws started being implemented.  After my husband and I got married, I went four months without health insurance because we couldn’t afford to pay for both his Concordia Plan insurance (insurance that the seminary requires him to hold) and any sort of insurance for me.  During this time span I had to go to the E.R. and the cost for that visit was astronomical.  On a similar note, my brother has Type I Diabetes.  Affordable health insurance for him was a bit of a pipe dream until the affordable care act started taking effect.  If this act were to be overturned, what would happen to all of the young adults receiving health insurance through their parents’ plans?  What would happen to my brother?    

I’m not saying that the good this act provides outweighs the bad it is enabling.  Likewise, I’m not even going to pretend that I understand the political and financial ramifications of the entire act.  The point I’m trying to bring forth is that this healthcare mess isn’t as black and white as some people like to pretend it is.  Admittedly, the contraception aspect of this act makes me very nervous.  What sort of implications will it bring in relation to the definition of religious freedom?  However, I cannot in good conscience pretend that this act hasn’t helped my family; I cannot pretend that it is a completely evil thing without any merits.  Such claims would make me a hypocrite.

Leave a Reply

