That Awkward Moment When You Forget Where You Live

Yesterday a young couple approached me when I was walking though a parking lot to get to a coffee shop.  The conversation went as follows:

Woman Stranger:  Excuse me, are you from around here.

Me:  Uh, no.

Man Stranger (to Woman Stranger):  Oh wait, her plates are out of state.

Me (realizing they weren’t asking where I was originally from but whether or not I lived in the area):  Oh wait, I do live here!  Do you need help?

Woman Stranger:  We were just wondering if you knew of a good place to get pizza.

Me:  Uh, I’ve heard of a place but I don’t remember what it is called. . . or where it is. . . . . . I’m sorry, I just moved here a month ago. *rushes away from really awkward conversation without saying goodbye*

Woman Stranger:  Well, thanks anyway. . .

One Comment on “That Awkward Moment When You Forget Where You Live”

  1. […] 2.  You hesitate when people ask where you are from.  Do they mean where you grew up?  Or do they mean where you have lived most of your adult life (which is hard to pinpoint)?  Or do they mean where you are currently living? […]


Leave a Reply

