Battling Bathrooms

I hate, hate, HATE cleaning the bathroom.  I don’t know what it is about cleaning that area of the house, but I spend more time in the week avoiding cleaning the bathroom than it does to actually clean the stupid room.  I had difficulty last year keeping one bathroom clean.  Our home this year has two bathrooms (one is also the laundry room) which makes me doubly procrastinate on the chore.  I know I should be thankful for running water and sanitary toilets, but man, I hate cleaning that room.

To add to my predicament, I also clean once a week at my employer’s home.  His house has two full bathrooms that need to be cleaned weekly.  That means there are four bathrooms a week that I need to scrub.  To be fair, my boss doesn’t demand that I clean the bathrooms; he just thought I could use some extra hours of work and he appreciates not having to clean them himself.  Likewise, there is always an aspect of a job that doesn’t make me super excited and the bathrooms are it for this newest gig.  However, by the time I clean those two bathrooms I’m even more unwilling to start cleaning the bathrooms in my own home (plus I get paid to clean the bathrooms at my boss’ house.  I know, I know, I make a terrible housewife).

At any rate, I was somewhat good this week and knocked out the chores in one the bathrooms yesterday.  However, since I’ve now cleaned three bathrooms this week I’m struggling to find the motivation to clean the final bathroom.  I know it will only take 20 minutes, tops.  I know that I’m procrastinating and could be done with it by now.  I know that there are worse tasks in life.  Yet when I envision scrubbing another toilet, I want to scream out, “I never wanted to be a homemaker!  I never wanted to be solely responsible for these chores!  One stipulation I had about potentially becoming a stay at home mom was that I wouldn’t be a homemaker, that is, do housewifey things before there were any children!  One thing, that’s all!  And now look where I am!  Scrubbing the stinkin’ toilets for the fourth time this week!  Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!”  

I know some of you might be hoping for something inspirational to come from my bathroom angst.  I’ve seen those books about finding joy in your vocation, about serving God in whatever role He gives you, that it’s a great  privilege for me to serve my husband in a way I never imagined.  I can see how I can twist this situation into a life lesson–Look where God has lead me, I serve Jesus while mopping the floor, I can find joy in keeping house, it’s my highest calling to support my husband in this way–but mostly I’m just bitter about that fourth bathroom. 

Sometimes I’m completely appalled by my immaturity.

Leave a Reply

