The Christmas Card Conundrum

I like Christmas cards.  I like receiving them, but I also enjoy sending them.  I appreciate having the chance to open a line of communication with people that I may not talk to very often.  Since my husband and I move so often, it’s difficult to maintain a relationship with friends and family around the country.  Christmas cards provide a good opportunity to say, “Hey, even though we aren’t in touch very often, we still think about you!”

However, yesterday my husband brought home a problem in the form of a small stack of Christmas cards from various congregation members.  Up until that moment I had never thought about the issue of giving Christmas cards to congregation members.  I’m not terribly concerned about it this year since we’ve only lived here five months–I’m not sending Christmas cards to anyone in the congregation and if certain people get uppity because we didn’t give them a Christmas card this year then they are waaaaay too sensitive.  Yet I realize that eventually my husband will have a congregation of his own (God willing) and then this will be a problem that I need to consider.  Do we give a card to every family in the congregation?  Do we only give cards to those we’re closest to?  Do we give a basic card to every family but add the newsletter and picture to those we’re closest to?  Do we just skip handing out Christmas cards to congregation members completely?

At this point, I’m open to suggestions.  ๐Ÿ™‚

2 Comments on “The Christmas Card Conundrum”

  1. Angela says:

    I don't usually send a card (at least not with the newsletter and photo) to our Pastor, because he and his family have shared our joys and sorrows all year and the newsletter seems redundant. Also – I see them and tell them Merry Christmas in person. It might sound a little harsh, but I come from a huge family (my mom is one of 7, my dad one of three). By the time I send to my aunts, uncles, cousins, plus the same for my husband's family I am at a rather expensive amount of postage. So, for me, the cards are for the people I don't get to see or talk to on a regular basis.

  2. Katrina says:

    It does make sense to forego Christmas cards for those you see often. ๐Ÿ™‚ A few sem. families we sent Christmas cards to this year probably won't get one next year because we'll all be back at the sem.–no need to update them on our life!


Leave a Reply

