What Are Their Names Again?

Before starting his vicarage, my husband knew that remembering congregation members’ names would be one of his greatest weaknesses.  Names just aren’t his forte.  Often he can remember many details about people, like where they work and how long they have lived in the area, but names just quickly trickle out of his mind.  Unfortunately, I’m not much help to him.  While I usually can remember people’s names longer then he can once I learn their names, I often have problems absorbing people’s names when first meeting them (in my defense, it’s hard to hear the name when my mind is screaming at me, “DON’T PANIC!  DON’T PANIC!  OH NO, I’M PANICKING!”).  Consequently, we make a terrible duo in trying to remember congregation members’ names.

Yesterday my husband and I decided to make a date night of going to Target (whoo, Target!) and then eating at Applebee’s.  The closest Target and Applebee’s are 20 miles away; the Applebee’s is also managed by a couple who are members of our vicarage church.  As we pulled into the parking lot, my husband starting mumbling to himself, “What are their names?  Shoot. . .”  By the time we were seated, he had drudged up from his memory the couple’s last name and the husband’s first name, but couldn’t recall the wife’s first name.  And guess who was working the bar?  Yup, the wife.

The server eventually took our orders and I excused myself to use the restroom.  When I came back, my husband was fiddling with his phone.  He looked up at me as I was sitting down and told me the wife’s name.  “What did you do while I was gone?  Text someone to find out her name?” I joked.

“Yes,” replied my husband.

“Wait, seriously?”

“Yeah, I texted the youth leader and he told me her name,” my husband said.  I started laughing and my husband indignantly stated, “What else was I supposed to do?”

I think the two of us might need to start working a little bit harder on remembering people’s names.

 

Leave a Reply

