Valentine’s Day Means I Get Lots of Candy. . .From My Parents

The first Valentine’s Day that my husband and I were dating, my cat died the night before.  In case you don’t remember when our kittens disappeared, I love animals.  Consequently, the death of my beloved childhood pet meant I went home for the weekend to mourn.  Happy Valentine’s Day to us.

The second Valentine’s Day that my husband and I were dating (technically we were engaged), we were trying to handle our year of having a long distance relationship.  We saw each other about once a month when our schedules could allow it.  Consequently, we spent Valentine’s Day 350 miles apart.  Happy Valentine’s Day to us.
By the third Valentine’s Day, my husband and I were married.  My husband’s birthday is five days before Valentine’s Day, which meant I had just bought him a present.  Likewise, we had already gone out to eat once that week because of his birthday.  Consequently, I said, “Screw this coupley Valentine’s Day stuff, I’m too lazy to buy another present for my husband and we’re too broke to go out to eat again!”  Thus we established our Valentine’s Day tradition.
But I’m not anti-Valentine’s Day.  I still very much look forward to the Valentine’s care package from home. What better way to celebrate Valentine’s Day than digging through a box of goodies?  Plus, I’ve been promised candy hearts from my mom, which is a good thing because I already ate the bag I bought yesterday.  Or maybe getting the candy hearts isn’t such a good thing because I already ate the bag I bought yesterday. . .
Leave a Reply

