Kindness from a Congregation Member

“Put on then, as God’s chosen ones, holy and beloved, compassionate hearts, kindness, humility, meekness, and patience. . .And above all these put on love which binds everything together in perfect harmony.”  Colossians 3:12, 14
When I returned to church after my anxiety-induced absence, my husband made a general announcement to the congregation that I was struggling with health problems due to stress.  We decided this would be the best way to help ease my transition back into the congregation–I wouldn’t have to answer over and over again where I had been for two months.  Consequently, a few people have figured out that I have anxiety (usually because they themselves have struggled with anxiety and depression).  
One woman has been kindly concerned about my health.  Several weeks ago she gave me a bird watching book and told me how observing birds helps her feel calm when she’s not feeling well.  Last Wednesday evening, she gave me gift another gift–one of her books about hummingbirds and butterflies and my own hummingbird feeder to use once spring comes.  She included a note to say that she hoped that my health had been improving.  
Her care humbled me because she is one of the last people in the congregation who need to worry about my health–she has cancer.  Ever since my husband and I arrived at our vicarage church, she has been included in the Sunday morning prayers.  Last month she had surgery and has just recently returned to church.  If anyone had an excuse not think about other people’s health, it’s this woman.  Yet she still used some of her energy to lovingly care for me.   
I think I’m beginning to understand what pastor’s wives mean when they say that their husbands’ job has given them the chance to meet some amazing people.  I don’t think I will ever forgot this woman who has shown me such kindness.  
What is an unexpected act of kindness someone has done for you? 
Leave a Reply

