Why I Hate Shopping at Walmart

My shopping nemesis is Walmart.  My dislike of the store is immediately apparent.  I physically react to walking into a Walmart:  My eyes widen at the sight of the cavernous ceiling, my skin crawls when spotting the narrow aisles, and my head pounds as I observe all the people milling around.  I don’t have this reaction when I go to Target.  Unfortunately, the closest Walmart is only 5 minutes from our house and the closest Target is 40 minutes away.*  I simply cannot justify not shopping at Walmart this year.   

I may not be able to avoid Walmart, but I don’t have to like Walmart.  In fact, my shopping experience for the last nine months has solidified my disdain for the store.  Here are 5 reasons why I hate shopping at Walmart:
1.  I can never find anything.
I also can’t find things like popsicle sticks, sidewalk salt, coffee filters, and light bulbs. 
2.  Items I need to buy seem consistently out of stock.  Seriously, it’s like shopping at the seminary co-op (where you can’t assume that they are going to have what you need), only the co-op is free and I pay for things from Walmart!

Of course, this can be a problem because sometimes I’m uncertain if something isn’t
there or if I just can’t find it.
3.  I can never find an employee to ask for help.

This means I can’t figure out whether I just can’t find an item or if the store
doesn’t have it.
4.  Inevitably I forget something at the opposite end of the store, meaning I have to trek through the miles and miles of aisles to get what I need.

This always seems to happen when I’m in a hurry, hence the picture of me running.
5.  There are never enough cash registers open.
Who decided that “Speedy Checkout” should go up to 20 items?  That’s not speedy!
And no, I don’t want to use a self-checkout; I want the store to do its job!
Ugh, Walmart.  The store may have me in its clutches this year, but rest assured that when we go back to the seminary where there are a plethora of shopping choices, I will be taking my business to Target. 

*I know this could be worse, that I could have to drive 40 minutes to get to the closest Walmart and even further to get to the closest Target.  Still, it’s my blog and I’ll complain if I want to!  😉
Leave a Reply

