The Moving Knot

moving knot

As we head further into May, the fact that summer is rapidly approaching becomes more and more apparent.  For the last three years, summer has meant moving.  This summer is no different.  Consequently, a knot starts forming in my stomach as I start thinking about all the details of our move.  What are we going to use for our move?  How much time do I need to pack?  What are all the little things like car insurance and trash pick-up that we need transferred?  Who do we need to see before we move?  And how will we emotionally handle this newest transition?  Each move requires new answers for these old questions.

I know I shouldn’t worry about these things; I know that everything will work out in the end.  I’ve heard all the verses about worry and anxiety (Matt. 6:25-34, Philippians 4:6, 1 Peter 5:6) and I know I shouldn’t do it.  Still, every year at this time I feel the moving knot tightening in my stomach as all the details start flashing into my consciousness.  So don’t mind me if I randomly burst into tears or go on a loud rant–I’m just stressing myself out.  Again.

Leave a Reply

