Being Creepers

My husband has recently started a four-week Bible study on depression at our vicarage church.  Consequently, mental illness has been a common conversation topic in our home for over a month now as my husband researches and plans his studies.

Yesterday, my husband and I went to a coffee shop.  Since it was Saturday afternoon, the shop was fairly full–an excellent time for people-watching.  One of the patrons that caught my attention was an older man studiously reading a thick textbook.  Settling onto my stool, I tried to figure out what he was reading and I saw the words “addiction” and “co-occurring disorders”  printed across the cover.  Intrigued, I cocked my head and squinted to better make out the title.  After doing this for about 30 seconds, I realized I was staring intently at the man.  I glanced over at my husband and realized that he had his head cocked to the side and was trying to read the cover of the man’s book as well.  Despite knowing that our interest was to only know what the man was reading about mental illness, we looked like a couple of creepers gaping at some poor fellow trying to mind his own business.

This is a good reason why we can’t go anywhere nice.

creepers

Fortunately, I don’t think the man noticed us.

Leave a Reply

