The Age Gap

Most of my life, my age has been underestimated.  Growing up, my sister and I were often mistaken for twins (I’m two years older than she is).  I once confused one of my co-workers in college by telling her I was going to be a senior.  I meant a senior in college, she thought I meant a senior in high school.  Last year I was often mistaken for my employers’ daughter instead of their nanny.  Likewise, an older lady tried to charge me a children’s admission to a corn maze two autumns ago.  You had to be 12 or younger to get the children’s admission–I was 23.

I have found there is a correlation between how old a person is and how young they guess I am.  I was bored enough today to draw you a graph:age graphFor the most part, people in their 20’s, 30’s, or 40’s will generally place me at least in my lower 20’s.  However, as we start looking at people in their 50’s, my estimated age starts dropping.  Ask people in their 60’s or older and suddenly I’m a young teenager again.  I’m not exaggerating–when my husband and I went to visit one of our support congregations, several older women told me that they thought I was 13.

My parents always tell me that someday I’ll appreciate looking younger than my age but it can still be frustrating now to have people assume I am a child when I graduated from college and got married almost 3 years ago.  Due to this frustration, I have started devising ways of making myself look older.

1.  Wear fancier clothing.

fancy clothes

I’m supposed to be wearing a suit. . .

The problem with this plan is that either I’m a) running around after children or b) lounging around my house.  Neither option is a big motivator to try to wear nice things.  Either way, I’m prone to ruin the clothes.

2.  Grow a beard.

beard

Having a beard helps my husband look older.  When I suggested this plan to him, he just told me that it probably wouldn’t have the effect I intended.

3.  Wear clothing that announces my age.

30874_452652244837_6007522_n

When I was growing up, my mom would make my siblings and me a shirt every year that said “I am [insert age].”  However, something tells me that wearing a shirt announcing that I am 5 isn’t the same as wearing shirt that announces I am 25.

4.  Steal someone’s baby because babies always make you look older.

stealing baby

Haha, just kidding about the stealing part–I know enough people with babies that I’m sure someone would let me borrow their child (well, maybe they won’t after seeing this picture. . .).

5.  Dye my hair gray.

hair

Just to really confuse people.

Do you look young for your age?  What do you do try to make yourself look older?

7 Comments on “The Age Gap”

  1. RPW says:

    I did at one point. When Jeff and I showed up at our vicarage, they thought we were in the youth group…but Jeff was the first “1st career” vicar they had. When we arrived at our last parish, we looked younger than we were….now we look older than we are. 😛 So…maybe that will help you out. 😉

    • Katrina says:

      Ha, that would be awkward to be mistaken as a member of the youth group! 🙂 Mostly the people here just ask me if I’m going ever going to complete my undergrad degree (Um. . .I already did?).

  2. Melissa says:

    I always get comments about my age. The most common one is that I am often mistaken for a high school student and am therefore not taken very seriously. (I’m a professional, for Pete’s sake!) after having three babies, though, I cannot tell you how awesome it is to be carded at a bar. 😉

    I guess I don’t have any suggestions. In about ten years, you are going to love it.

    • Katrina says:

      I think not being taken seriously is my biggest complaint about looking young. However, I did have an older co-worker overestimate my age once when I was at the daycare–I guess that job aged me! 🙂

  3. Kristina says:

    Lipstick? Gain weight? Just kidding. IDK… I get this too, but I’m old enough now that nobody cares enough to comment. Just skip #5–it can’t be done well, and for those of us who are going prematurely gray it actually draws more attention to your otherwise youthful appearance.

    • Katrina says:

      I wasn’t seriously considering dying my hair but I have found some silver hairs on my head over the last several years. My genes might force me into grey anyway. 🙂

  4. […] wasn’t more than two months ago that people informed me that I didn’t look any older than 13.  However, now that I consistently care for 2 grade schoolers and a baby at work, I find myself […]


Leave a Reply

