Introvert Monday: When Children’s Books Understand Introversion

It’s been awhile since I’ve written an “Introvert Monday” post.  Sorry!

Last week I was reading my youngest nanny charge One, Two, Three! by Sandra Boynton.  Since many of Sandra Boynton’s books weren’t published until after I had outgrown board books, reading her books are new to me.  Consequently, I had no idea that One, Two, Three! understood introversion.  First, the book took us counting up to 10 while looking at illustrations of animals doing funny things like having tea or exploring a cave.  *Spoilers*  But the last few pages went like this:

Ten makes a celebration LOUD, LOUD, LOUD!  And ONE is WONDERFUL after a crowd.

I smiled as I finished the story.  I might be trying to glean too much from a children’s book, but I felt that here was an author encouraging young readers to spend time alone and not to feel like they always have to be having fun in a crowd.  The illustrations also encourage this idea.  On the “Ten” page, nine animals march around with noisy instruments while the tenth animal (a little cat) gives a bug-eyed look to the reader.  On the last “One” page, the same little cat gives a relaxed smile as he stands alone on the page, because one is truly wonderful after a crowd.

Leave a Reply

