Ranking the Importance of Big Appliances

appliances

One of the frusterating  interesting things about waiting for a call is our unknown housing situation.  Will we live in a parsonage?  Will we rent a house?  Or will we go to a town so small that there aren’t any houses to rent so we’ll have to buy a house?  The final option creates a bit of panic for my husband and me, mostly because we have no idea how to buy a house.  The prospect of having a 6-weekish time-span to buy a house for the first time seems insane, but we’re trying to prepare ourselves for the possibility.

We realize that the cost of buying a house doesn’t simply include the down payment and a monthly mortgage.  It also includes homeowner’s insurance, upkeep expenses, and utilities.  Likewise, it includes the possibility that we will have to buy major appliances.

I first thought of the appliance situation almost 3 years ago and had a snit fit when I found how much refrigerators, washers, and dryers cost.  Then I proceeded to make a budget line for appliances and have been putting small amounts of money into it ever since.  Unfortunately, our limited saving for appliances has not met the cost expense of buying multiple appliances at one time, especially because I want to buy energy-efficient models.  Likewise, I’m completely against us purchasing appliances on a payment plan.  If we don’t have money in the bank for a certain model, we don’t buy it (at least that’s my idea.  I actually haven’t talked this over with my husband yet. . .).

Consequently, I’ve started making a mental list of the order we should buy appliances:

  1. Refrigerator
  2. Oven
  3. Washer
  4. Dishwasher
  5. Dryer

A refrigerator would be most important because I can think of no other alternatives for keeping food cold.  While cooking without an oven would be annoying, most foods can be cooked in the microwave.  I know oven-cooked chicken tastes way better than microwave-cooked chicken, but I’m thinking appliance-buying triage here!  To cover the lack of a stove top, we could buy a camping stove. We also have a grill to help with cooking.  However, I wouldn’t want to go too long without an oven, hence it’s rank in my appliance-buying list.

After a refrigerator and oven, I would like to buy a washer.  I’ve been spoiled the last three years by having a washer in our home, but I realize that I can do our laundry at a laundromat.  It just doesn’t sound very fun.

After the washer, I would want to buy a dishwasher.  Yes, that’s right,  I would want to buy a dishwasher before a dryer.  I hate, hate, HATE doing dishes.  Thankfully, my husband washes them most of the time but we both agree that we would be thrilled to have a dishwasher again.

Finally, I would buy a dryer. . .maybe.  Again, I’ve been spoiled by having a dryer in our home for the clothes I want to dry quickly or shrink, but I try to line-dry as much as I can.  Buying a few more drying racks would certainly be cheaper than purchasing a dryer.  Plus, clothes last longer when they are line-dried (at least that’s what I tell myself).

Of course, we may wind up in a parsonage that has all the major appliances, which means all this pondering has been for naught.

What appliance do you think is most necessary?  Have you gone without a major appliance for a long period of time?  

3 Comments on “Ranking the Importance of Big Appliances”

  1. gah I hate doing dishes too! I love my dishwasher, so I don’t blame you! I think you got your list pretty good 🙂 I’d put the dishwasher over the washer also!

    • Katrina says:

      I recently read at recyclebank.com that a dishwasher is also more energy efficient than hand-washing, so that’s a plus as well! 😀

  2. […] upon a time, I thought I could easily get by without a dryer. What an ignorant lady I was! I’ve been frantically trying to keep up with our laundry […]


Leave a Reply

