On the Bright Side. . .

I’m a nanny.  I chase after a toddler, corral grade school children, and try to help keep the household afloat.  I cook, I clean, and I occasionally receive a face-full of snot from a dog or a baby.  Don’t get me wrong, I am very thankful for my job.  I work for a good family and my employers have provided generously for me.  However, there are some days when I can’t shake the feeling that I’m not living up to my potential.  It’s my mostly my pride speaking because someone has to care for the children, and I’m not so wonderful that I’m above changing a dirty diaper or playing “knock down the block tower” over and over and over again.  Still, I have to resign myself that I feel a bit of embarrassment when I run into a high school classmate and I tell them that I’m “just a nanny”.

On the bright side:  Despite the firm warnings from high school and college career counselors that I would have to have a professional wardrobe someday, I still get to wear jeans to work every day.  I showed them!

jeans

Do you work a job where you don’t have to dress professionally?  Does this job meet your career expectations?

 

Leave a Reply

