A Positive Customer Service Experience

At the beginning of December, I ordered my husband’s Christmas gift from ThinkGeek.  A few days later I received notification that my order had been processed and would soon be on its way.  I clicked on the link that took me to UPS’s tracking site, saw that my package hadn’t shipped from there yet, decided to check back in a few days, and then promptly forgot about the gift.

On Monday I realized that I hadn’t gotten my order yet.  When I checked the tracking site again, I saw that there still wasn’t a delivery status posted.  Since it was well beyond the 24-48 hour period, I e-mailed UPS to find out what happen to the package.  I still haven’t heard back from them.

On Wednesday, I called ThinkGeek’s customer service number to see if they could do anything about the missing order.  In less than 2 minutes I was talking to an actual person and not just pushing numbers on my phone.  The service rep. checked the status of my order.  Since he didn’t know what went wrong, he said that he would put in a replacement order for me and make sure that it got there by Christmas.  When I told him that my husband and I were leaving town before Christmas, he arranged to have the order delivered by Saturday.  My husband’s Christmas gift arrived yesterday.

It brightens my week that not only was I able to talk to an actual person about my order issue, he promptly fixed the order without trying to pass along the problem.  So, thank you ThinkGeek!

Leave a Reply

