Progressing Through the Call Process

A few months ago, my husband and I completed the call interview with the placement director, thus ending my involvement in the call process.  My husband had a few more items on his to-do list.  Handing in his SET form was one of them (from what I understand, the SET form is a call candidate’s public statement of his beliefs and viewpoints about the ministry.  I could be under-describing or just plain wrong in my explanation).  The other big thing that my husband had to complete was his Theological Interview (TI).  

The TI is when a fourth-year seminarian is interviewed by two professors on theological questions to make sure that no potential pastors are spewing heresies.  If this sounds intimidating, that’s because it is.  The good news is that most students pass their TIs, but nobody wants to be that guy who fails.  

My husband had his TI on Wednesday and he passed.  Hooray!  I can’t really go into more details about the TI because a) my husband doesn’t discuss his worry as readily as I do and b) the professors asked him questions that I wouldn’t really understand.  It’s hard to make something sound interesting when you have no idea what you’re talking about.  Not to mention that while I knew I should only be sympathetic for my husband leading up to his TI, part of me was still thinking this:

TI

But no pressure.

At any rate, with my husband completing his TI, that means that he is now done with his part of the call process (except for continuing to pass his classes).  Aside from the possibility of an interview, we’ll most likely hear nothing about Call until April 30.

In case you’re wondering, that’s 102 days from now–not that I’m counting.

 

  

Leave a Reply

