We Know Where We Are Going (Call Edition)

April 30 was Call Night (sorry it’s taken me so long to update–life has been a little busy since that night).  After months of anticipation and prayer, found out that my husband has been called to a church in northern Iowa.

All this Hawkeye can say to that is . . . WHOOHOO!  Really, returning to Iowa has been my dream throughout the seminary years.

Anyway, my husband and I have fielded many questions over the last few days about his call, so I thought I would answer the most common ones here:

1. What is the church like?  The church is on the smaller size of average with 250 baptized members and about 90 people worshiping weekly.  We’ve been told that the congregation uses the liturgies from Lutheran Service Book (yay!).

2. What is the town like?  The town population is just over 1600 people, so small (although not as small as some towns that our friends are moving to).  However, a bigger city–well, Iowa big–is about 15 miles away.  Stores like Target, Kohl’s, and Hy-Vee (the regional grocery store) are about 20 minutes away.  The town itself has a school, post office, library, and the local grocery store.

Oh, yes, there are about 5 other churches in town.  I’m not sure what the bar situation is like

3. What type of housing do you have?  Parsonage, yay!  I don’t know much about the house itself, other than it has 2 bedrooms with a potential 3rd bedroom in the basement and is about .5 miles from the church.

4. How close are you to family?  We are 1.5 hours from my father-in-law and 2.5 hours from my parents, siblings, and one of my sisters-in-law and her husband.  For those of you wondering, we are pleased to be close to family.  We also have many friends within that radius as well.

5. When will you move?  Not immediately.  I’m currently still working and my husband won’t actually graduate for another 2 weeks (yes, he does actually have to finish his classes).  Likewise, the current pastor won’t retire until the end of June.  Consequently, we’re tentatively thinking of moving at the end of June and having my husband’s ordination/installation sometime in the first couple of weeks in July.

6. What will you do after you move?  Well, I’m retiring from my nanny career to become a stay-at-home mom.  Granted, I’ll have a few months to kill before Baby arrives, but right now I’m looking forward to some downtime.  Work has kept me fairly buys this year, so I have a bunch of little projects that I’ve put aside until I had more time.  One of those projects is learning how to birth a baby–rumor has it that stork doesn’t actually give you a baby. o.O  I’ve also recently started writing some articles for a website, so I would like to continue with that work even after Baby comes.

One Comment on “We Know Where We Are Going (Call Edition)”

  1. Rebekah says:

    So excited to hear all this Katrina! I almost send you a message the other day wondering how call day went since I was hearing all the FB stories from other sem wives. I figured you’d get a blog up as soon as you were able. What a blessing to be that close to family. Close enough to make day trips if you had to. My parents used to live in Forest City, which is north central Iowa. So glad to hear you will be able to stay home too. Those few months before baby comes will be good to get settled in. Hope you are doing well 🙂


Leave a Reply

