Post-Seminary Aspirations: Update

About a year and a half ago, I wrote our wish-list of things we would like to have/do after my husband was done with seminary.  Since my husband is now done with seminary and we are waiting to load up the trailer to start our new life soon, I started thinking about this list.  Much to my surprise, we’ve already crossed some of our post-seminary aspirations off our list.

Buy headboard
Own piano
Buy shredded cheese:  For some reason I consider this a frivolous purchase when I can buy a block of cheese for less and shred it myself.  However, it is so tedious to shred 16 ounces of cheese!
Consistent beer supply
Ditch the pink armchair that we got from the Co-op:  Super comfy, super ugly
Have babies!  Baby #1 due October 1
Have a real kitchen table:  Not that our current one isn’t great, it just isn’t ours It turns out that we are keeping the kitchen table after all.  🙂
Buy a house
Have a cat AND dog We adopted two kittens this past November.  We’re going to wait a bit for the dog.  
Get a DVR
Decorate rooms more purposely:  Since we move so often, it’s hard to justify actually buying home decor because we don’t know if we can use it at the next place.  I pointed this out to my husband when he wanted to get another crucifix for our house
Live in the same home for more than a year consecutively
New clothes that fit:  Not that the Co-op and thrift stores aren’t great (nor will we stop using thrift stores once we’re done with seminary), it’s just sometimes we’re wearing clothes that don’t exactly fit because they were free
Flat screen TV Christmas gift in 2012
More variety in coffee supply
Two full bathrooms:  This is my husband’s idea, I think it’s frivolous Our parsonage has 1 and 3/4 baths.  Good enough for me!
Furnished guest bedroom
Guest house:  Again, husband’s idea.  I think he was getting silly at this point
Fire pit
Not looking at everything we own and thinking, “How hard is this to move?”
Patio furniture
Matching furniture for living room:  Or at least stop doing things like using my old, broken TV stand as a side table.  On the other hand, I love that I can tell a story about every piece of furniture in our living room.  The couch was my grandmother’s, the coffee table was my father-in-law’s, one of the end tables was my parents’ and is from the Philippines. . .
Own a kneeler  Husband will get one in a few weeks as a graduation present.
Buy a guitar
Contacts for husband:  Might spring for this before being done with seminary
Spice rack
Retirement fund
Start investments
Huge kitchen with island
Have multiple flavors of ice cream in freezer
Big computer desk
Sun Room
China hutch
New vacuum:  We’re using the cheap-o one my parents bought me for my first apartment
Swiffer
Magazine subscriptions There are ways to get subscriptions for free.  🙂
Dishwasher Parsonage will have one!
Garbage disposal Parsonage will have one!
Be able to pay for others’ meals when we go out
After feeling like our lives have been at the same place for the last four years (moving constantly, trying to get husband through school), it’s nice to realize that we have been working towards a more comfortable life.
Leave a Reply

