Finding Baby a Doctor

We’re 6 weeks out from my due date.  Because due dates are more like guidelines, that means we can reasonably expect Baby to arrive a month from now.  Of course, we can also just as reasonably expect Baby to show up two months from now because pregnancy is a fun like that.  Whee!

At any rate, my husband and I are getting to the point where our baby to-do list is rapidly increasing.  Despite the reassurances that all a baby really needs is your love and blah, blah, blah, there are some things that should probably be included in the baby’s life.  Healthcare is one of those things, so I’ve been trying to figure out how to find a doctor for Baby.

Like most things relating to infants, researching doctors is a frustrating combination of endless options and fear-mongering.  Do we go with a pediatrician or family doctor?  M.D. or D.O.?  What about a nurse-practitioner?  How should distance factor into our decision?

Then there’s pressure to find a doctor that fits with your parenting philosophy, adding a new slew of questions to figure out.  How does the doctor feel about breastfeeding?  About sleep training?  Vaccinations?  And this is all the more confusing because I haven’t figured out how we feel about these things.

So I started lamenting about my confusion to my husband over lunch one day.  He came up with a solution:

test

conclusion

While his method may be unorthodox, it does simplify the search process. . .

4 Comments on “Finding Baby a Doctor”

  1. Heather says:

    We always just ask the moms in the congregation where they take their children. They will probably be able to answer some of your questions about the doctor’s practices.
    I always, always ask about how difficult it is to be seen on a Friday when your child is ill. If we can’t get in then, it’s not the place for us. Remember, if one turns out to be a dud, you can always change doctors.

    • Katrina says:

      Yeah, my midwife pointed out that we didn’t have to stick with the doctor we initially choose. Mostly I’m dreading making phone calls about it! I have been meaning to ask one of the moms in the congregation who they see since she is due with their 4th in December.

  2. Melissa says:

    My mother, who is a nurse, says that unless a serious condition is involved, family practitioners are the way to go. After child number three, I have finally figured out that those blasted parenting books by “experts” left me unnecessarily worried for years. Go with YOUR gut. You’re the mom, after all! (Also, I liked the advice to ask around. People can be helpful with where to steer you!)


Leave a Reply

