The Sleep, Baby, Sleep Exercise Program

Baby Girl doesn’t sleep well during the day.  I know that I should be thankful that she at least sleeps some during the night, but having an infant awake during most of the day makes it really difficult to wake up at midnight. . . and 3 a.m. . . . and 5:30 a.m. . . .

And before everyone jumps in with advice about how to get Baby Girl to nap, let me say I’ve heard most of the advice.  I know I should put her to bed when she looks sleepy (she doesn’t fall asleep when I do that).  I’ve heard about schedules and routines (I gave up on that after about 12 hours because I was in tears since she “wasn’t doing it right”).  I’ve read books like On Becoming Babywise (I can’t bring myself to do cry-it-out yet) and The Happiest Baby on the Block (I had to leave those tips behind when Baby Girl gave up being swaddled).  About the only thing that is keeping my last bit of sanity is this blog post.

Anyway, to get Baby Girl to occasionally nap during the day, I’ve implemented the Sleep, Baby, Sleep Exercise Program.

First, I start with the Baby Carry

Baby Carry

Sometimes Baby Girl works herself up so much that she needs soothing and burping.  I can accomplish both by carrying her high up on my shoulder and walk throughout the house again and again and again.

Then I switch over to the Baby Bounce

Baby Bounce

Bouncing helps soothes Baby Girl to the point where her eyelids start drooping.  While it works to bounce-walk with her in my arms, it’s much more efficient to place Baby Girl in a baby carrier (I use a Moby Wrap) and bounce on an exercise ball.  It can take up to 30 minutes to get her to sleep like this and I can start to “feel the burn” after about 10 minutes.  So the question comes to this:  Do I want my comfort or do I want her to sleep?  Sleep usually wins.

If all else fails, I go to the Baby Stroll

Baby Stroll

Sometimes I go outside with Baby Girl in her carrier but the stroller works as well.  The key to using the stroller is walking at a brisk pace–no lollygagging!  I used this method going to church and was shocked to find out it took 5 minutes less to get there than when I was pregnant.  I guess it’s easier to push Baby Girl outside my body than to carry her inside my body.

If I can get Baby Girl to fall asleep with the Sleep, Baby, Bleep Exercise Program, I’ll place her in her swing.  Then I can finally do something productive. . . or just worry about why she is sleeping for so long.

worry

 

What things have you needed to do in order to get a baby to sleep?

6 Comments on “The Sleep, Baby, Sleep Exercise Program”

  1. Steph says:

    Not to jump in with more advice, 😉 *but* I have heard some babies seem to not like swaddling only to find out they were not swaddled tight enough. I’m a big fan of the double swaddle myself, if that’s one you have not yet tried. But then there are also those who just don’t seem to like swaddling nonetheless!

    • Katrina says:

      I dunno, my husband was pretty good at swaddling when Baby Girl gave it up. However, I have been thinking about trying it again because she keeps jerking herself awake when she’s put in her pack ‘n play.

    • Katrina says:

      Steph, I could hug you if you lived closer! We tried swaddling her in her sleep sack again and she’s sleeping much better at night!

  2. Melissa says:

    Books are so overrated. I can sympathize with you! I hope you find something that works for you.

    Gretchen would only sleep in her car seat for about a month. For my sanity, sometimes I would put her in that in her room and just close the door for about 15 minutes. She was full, and she had a dry diaper, so nothing else was “wrong” with her. I just needed a break from the NOISE. Once in a great while, she’d wear herself out and fall asleep.

    There were many more times, though, that I would do the kinds of things you do. Sometimes I’d even go for a drive with her in that seat, and that would work. She’d manage to fall asleep about 15 minutes before we had to leave to pick up the other kids from school. (Rrrrrrrrrrrrrrr!)

    The good news was that it didn’t last forever.

    • Katrina says:

      Ooh, I remember having nap battles with my youngest nanny charge. He would nap pretty well most days, but sometimes he would fight the nap until it was time to get his siblings from school. Those were long days! I’m thankful that I don’t have another little one to care for right now. :p

  3. […] your first round of nap protests, I had several mothers recommend the book Healthy Sleep Habits, Happy Child.   “It’s […]


Leave a Reply

