Dear Babykins: Our Anniversary

Dear Babykins,

Today is a special anniversary.  Admittedly, it’s an anniversary that will probably fade as life continues.  But this year I have the presence of mind to mark it.

Do you know what today is?

A year ago I consciously became your mother.  I held the pregnancy test with shaking hands, shocked by the small positive sign on the plastic stick.

While it took many more months for you to appear to the outside world (heck, it took many more months for me to even show I was pregnant), from that moment your father and I were no longer a couple.  You made us a family.

And we thank God for you.

Love,

Mommy

Leave a Reply

