Will You Treasure These Moments With Me?

I know this is a favorite topic of mommy blogs everywhere.  Post after post have been written about young mothers’ abhorrence of being told to “treasure every moment”.  Why is this?

Because it’s freakin’ annoying to be told that you should love every moment of motherhood.  Because it’s a lot of pressure to feel like your heart should be overflowing with happiness during every tedious task.  And mostly because the people telling you to “treasure every moment” are the ones who are least likely to know your parenting struggles.

Last Sunday morning provided a fine sample of moments to “treasure”.  The 2 a.m. feeding for Babykins, which wouldn’t have been bothersome except that it was followed by a 3:30 a.m feeding and a 6:15 a.m. wake up.

Awake

The battle to get ready for church with an overtired Babykins.  The half-mile walk to church over icy roads in a desperate (but ultimately futile) attempt to get Babykins to sleep before church.

The failed attempt to discreetly feed Babykins in the Sunday school area.  The poop on my hands when I changed the blowout diaper.  The wrestling match to get Babykins in a clean outfit because the poop on my hands got on her.

diaper change

The mad dash to leave after service before Babykins had a meltdown.  The half-mile trek back home over icy roads in which Babykins finally fell asleep.

Granted, last Sunday morning was a particularly difficult one for Babykins and me.  But are those the moments I’m really meant to treasure?  Am I a bad mother for not enjoying Sunday morning with my baby?

For once, I’m not racked with self-doubt by these questions.  I realize the “treasure every moment” mantra is said with nostalgia and the expectation to love every second of motherhood is foolish.

There are many moments that I treasure with Babykins.  I treasure the moment when my husband excitedly told me “Girl!” as he saw Babykins for the first time.  I treasure her smile that she readily gives me but has to be coaxed to give strangers.  I treasure having her by my bedside at night (when she’s peacefully sleeping, of course).  I treasure the snuggles.  I treasure her bright eyes and long fingers.  I treasure many things.

But I don’t treasure everything.  Like any vocation, there are crappy moments (figuratively and literally) and it’s a ridiculous sentiment to treasure every moment.

But those precious, treasure-worthy moments make the gut-wrenching, frustrating moments worth it.

3 Comments on “Will You Treasure These Moments With Me?”

  1. Rebekah says:

    Exactly. That last line nails it. You are wise to learn this. I really think as time goes on, the Lord gives mothers a dose of divine amnesia. She does not remember the terrible times…as much. I think this is God’s mercy on her. A foretaste of her future reward.

    • Katrina says:

      I think you’re right about the dose of amnesia–otherwise we would never want additional children! 🙂

    • Anna M says:

      Amnesia is a good way to put it. As we get closer to the arrival of baby number 2, I keep thinking, “Wait a minute, didn’t I go through a really awful period with no sleep for the first…um…not sure how many weeks of baby number 1’s life?”

      It’s funny, though, how the really tough experiences seem different once we are far enough away from them. I didn’t enjoy the challenges I experienced during college, but I wouldn’t erase them from my life now even if I could. They are part of the whole picture. Perhaps the less-happy moments of motherhood are like that, too.


Leave a Reply

