Touche, My Talented Babykins

Babykins is a multitasker.  Now that her days are filled with eating solids, pushing herself about, eating her toes, chatting to her stuffed animals, and other such baby activities, she’s often too busy to make breastfeeding and sleep two separate activities.  Yes, I have a baby who nurses to fall sleep and, more often then I would like, nurses to stay asleep (*cue dramatic music and cut image to frowning sleep expert*).

This has been going on for about 6 weeks, but the last two weeks have been particularly rough.  As in, often not letting me put her down for longer than 30 minutes for a nap and waking every 1.5-2 hours at night.  I consider it a pretty amazing feat on Babykins’s part to make me–the person who almost never naps in the car because sleeping upright is too uncomfortable–fall asleep for an hour or two in the glider multiple times (yes, I know that this isn’t safe.  It’s not like I’m consciously choosing to sleep in the glider instead of the bed at 3 a.m).  Who would have thought that 11 lbs of baby could be such a strong force?  I certainly didn’t.

Oh, I know we could do things differently.  I know we could sleep train.  During a particularly bad night, I even let her cry for awhile.  But it just doesn’t feel right for us yet.

But after these past couple of weeks, I think we may be turning a corner.  Babykins has taken at least 1 long nap without me nursing her the last two days.  Last night, I had 4–that’s right, 4–uninterrupted hours of sleep.  Chronic sleep deprivation is a funny thing because I feel great today.  I even smiled at church!

And even if these last few days have been a fluke, we’re still moving Babykins out of our room and into the nursery.  Hopefully she thinks it’s as great idea as my husband and I think it is!

Leave a Reply

