Dear Babykins: Let’s Learn to Travel!

Dear Babykins,

This past weekend we took our first overnight trip sans your dad. It went surprisingly well. You were a real trooper during your grandpa’s retirement party and you slept decently enough at night that I’m willing to overlook the 5:45 a.m. wake up.

However, we’re going to have to work our car travel. I know that you would prefer if I sat in the back with you but that just isn’t possible when your dad isn’t with us. We will most likely be taking many weekend trips without your dad because he has to work on Sundays and parties are typically on Saturdays or Sundays. So here are some ideas that we can work on to make the car ride less. . . loud and screamy:

1. Stop chucking your toys out of your carseat. I know it’s fun to watch them fall off the side, but I can’t pick them up off the floor when we’re driving 70 m.p.h. and you decide you want them back.

2. Keep your pacifier in your mouth. You prefer to nurse to sleep and you think the pacifier doesn’t cut it (Admittedly, when I put you in your crib after you’ve fallen asleep, I stick the pacifier in. Most of the time you don’t notice). However, I also can’t nurse you while we’re driving 70 m.p.h.  Your choice is either the pacifier or nothing at all. Spitting it out and screaming won’t solve anything.

3. Eat when I offer. Gas stations and rest stops are very exciting places with strange sounds and different things to see. However, I promise you won’t miss anything important if you just nurse for 10 minutes. Plus, you won’t get hungry 20 miles later.

4. Just go to sleep.  When we are driving during your naptime, it’s okay to fall asleep. I know the car sounds different and the carseat isn’t like your crib, but you eventually fall asleep anyway. If we could forgo the prior 2 hours of yelling, that would be swell.

5. The driver should have caffeine prepared before hitting the road.  This one is for me. It’s not a good idea to go through the world’s slowest McDonald’s drive-thru while you are sleeping so I can get some coffee to stay awake (see aforementioned 5:45 a.m. wake up). Since I have to TALK RIDICULOUSLY LOUD when ordering into the microphone, you will wake up and yelling will commence.

I believe if we both follow through on these tips, our road trips will become increasingly happier.

Road trip

4 Comments on “Dear Babykins: Let’s Learn to Travel!”

  1. Ina Library says:

    Hahahah!! This was AMAZING!! My son hates the car seat and I hate when other people say “Usually babies love the car ride!” WELL GUESS WHAT?! My son doesn’t! You made me laugh so hard this morning and I am so grateful! I wish all babies would get the memo that we are trying to keep them safe, not torture them. 🙂 Have a wonderful day!!

    • Katrina says:

      I remember being so frustrated when my daughter quit easily falling asleep in the car at around 3 months old because “babies are supposed to love the car ride”. Glad someone else can relate to the anti-sleep-in-the-car baby!

  2. […] that far, but it’s the farthest I’ve driven without my husband since Babykins was born. Babykins isn’t the greatest car traveler and it’s difficult to drive with her without another adult. However, we had a bit of practice […]

  3. […] This year for our summer family vacation, we drove to Ohio to visit my grandmother, aunt, and uncle on my dad’s side for a few days. We then drove to Michigan to spend the weekend with some of my family members on my mom’s side. Babykins hadn’t meet many of these family members before, but overall she handled the unfamiliar surroundings and faces very well (except for the fact she still hates long car rides). […]


Leave a Reply

