Where I’ve Been: Christmas Edition

I haven’t been writing much the past month. Despite trying not to go overboard with extra Christmas activities, December always seems to fill with extra baking, more time shopping (but thank goodness for online shopping!), and scrambling to finish Christmas cards. My father-in-law and my parents were able to visit around Christmas day, so there was time to be spent with them. Also, Babykins finally got 3 teeth this past month. We’ve had some rough nights as she works on pushing those bad boys through, so several days this month have been “Mommy Zombie” days.

Don’t get me wrong–I’m not resentful of any of these things. Well, I could probably do without the sleep withdrawal, but dealing with teething is just a right of passage in parenting (and it’s not like Babykins is having a good time). But I know I have limited time to do my fun stuff. In December, Christmas takes much of that time and blog writing takes a break.

We’re now in the midst of our “3 trips in 3 weeks” saga. Life doesn’t slow down just because the calendar flips over to January. However, I am hoping to return to writing on a semi-regular basis. Our travels will bring plenty of experiences for me to write about–my first time single parenting in a hotel, Babykins’s first funeral, and Babykins’s first plane ride are a few examples. Plus, our second annual parsonage open house is on the calendar for later this month and I sincerely doubt I’ll be able to hide in our bedroom this year. How will I survive?!

I hope you all had (and are having) a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

