Dust to Dust

cross

Today is Ash Wednesday, the start of the penitential season of Lent. I plan on taking Babykins to church tonight. Since we missed last year’s Ash Wednesday service, this will be the first time the ashes will be put on Babykins’ forehead.

For those of you unfamiliar with Ash Wednesday’s namesake, there is an imposition of ashes on congregation members–typically smeared on the forehead in the shape of a cross. The ashes remind us of God’s promise to Adam after the fall into sin, “for you are dust, and to dust you shall return,” (Genesis 3:19b). Likewise, being covered in ashes is an ancient Christian practice of repentance.

Truth be told, I’m not looking forward to Babykins having the ashes put on her forehead. It’s a terrible reminder that she is a sinner just like me and will someday die.

But it also reminds me that my fervent prayer for her isn’t simply for her physical health and comfort, it’s that God keeps her steadfast in the Christian faith–the faith that Jesus Christ died for those sins and that she is covered in Christ’s sacrificial blood.

In 47 days, I will sing of Christ’s resurrection and victory over eternal death. However, tonight I will mourn of my sin and my daughter’s sin and cry out to God to have mercy on us poor, sinful beings.

Kyrie Eleison.

2 Comments on “Dust to Dust”

  1. pilch92 says:

    I am going to church with my niece and her 3 month old baby. I am looking forward to her first ashes as continuing with our religion. I had not thought of it as being a sinner, it is too hard to imagine that sweet innocent baby as ever going to sin ( although I know she will).

    • Katrina says:

      Yes, it is hard to imagine our infants as sinners, but we’re all born with original sin. David alludes to this in Psalm 51:5, but I suppose the biggest indicator of original sin is the fact that infants can die (Romans 6:23–they face the wages of sin just like adults). This is why my church denomination (Lutheran Church-Missouri Synod) baptizes babies since we don’t believe there is an age of accountability.

      I hope you had a fulfilling service last night! I found it hard to be particularly penitential with an active toddler in the pew with me. 🙂


Leave a Reply

